16 SOA researchers figure in Stanford University’s list

Share this story

SOA had 13 researchers in Stanford University’s list of top two per cent scientists published in 2021.

Bhubaneswar: Sixteen researchers of Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA) Deemed to be University here have figured in the world ranking of top two per cent scientists for 2022 drawn up by Stanford University of USA on the basis of a subject-wise analysis conducted by it.

SOA had 13 researchers in Stanford University’s list of top two per cent scientists published in 2021 while 11 had found place in the 2020 list.

Nine of the SOA researchers have figured in the list for all the three years. They are Prof. (Dr.) Ashok Kumar Mahapatra, eminent neurosurgeon and presently SOA’s Vice-Chancellor, Prof. (Dr.) Pradipta Kishore Dash, Prof. Kulamani Parida, Prof. Lala Behari Sukla, Prof. RNP Choudhary, Prof. Goutam Rath, Prof. Niharbala Devi, Dr. Manoj Kumar Nayak and Dr. Satya Ranjan Mishra.

The others in the 2022 list include Prof. Rajashree Dash, Dr. Manohar Mishra, and Dr. Sulagna Patnaik who also made it to the prestigious list in 2021. Besides, four other researchers — Prof. Rabindranath Padhy, Prof. Binod Kumar Sahu, Dr. Susanginee Nayak and Dr. Dipti Prava Sahoo, have been named in this year’s list for the first time.

Prof. Rajashree Dash is a professor and Dr. Mishra an Associate Professor in the Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), SOA’s faculty of engineering and technology, while Dr. Patnaik is an ex-Research Scholar of ITER.

Also read: Eastern region consultation on National Curriculum Framework held

SOA’s Founder President Prof. (Dr.) Manojranjan Nayak congratulated the researchers on their being named in the prestigious list saying it would provide a boost to the research work being undertaken by the university.

Prof. (Dr.) Mahapatra is one of the country’s renowned neurosurgeons who was earlier Director of AIIMS, Bhubaneswar.

Among those who have found place in the list this year, Prof. (Dr.) Pradipta Kishore Dash, an eminent figure among nationally known researchers in the field of energy and former Vice-Chancellor of SOA while Prof. Parida and Prof. Sukla have been working in areas of Physical Chemistry and Mining and Metallurgy respectively. Prof. Choudhary is from the field of Applied Physics and Prof. Devi is currently engaged in research in the area of Mining and Metallurgy.

Prof. Rath is presently working as Professor in the department of Pharmaceutics at the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, SOA’s faculty of pharmaceutical sciences while Dr. Nayak is an Associate Professor at ITER. Dr. Mishra teaches Mathematics at ITER.

Prof. Parida is presently working as Distinguished Professor in Chemistry and Director of SOA’s Centre for Nano Sciences and Nano Technology. Dr. Susanginee Nayak and Dr. Dipti Prava Sahoo are research scholars working at the centre.

Prof. Sukla is now the Research Professor and Director of SOA’s Bio-fuel and Bio-processing Research Centre. Prof. Choudhary, who had earned his Ph.D from the University of Edinburgh, UK, and was head of the department of Physics at IIT, Kharagpur, is presently Professor of Physics at ITER while Prof. Devi has more than 30 years of research experience.

Prof. (Dr.) Rabindranath Padhy is a professor in the Central Research Laboratory of IMS and SUM Hospital while Prof. Binod Kumar Sahu is working as professor at ITER.

Focused highly on research, SOA has 16 research centres and 58 research labs with most of the work aligned to national priorities.

Share this story