T20 World Cup 2024: India vs Pakistan clash on June 9 in New York

Share this story

T20 World Cup 2024
T20 World Cup 2024 is set to kick off on June 1. (Photo credit: Pixabay)

In the upcoming 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup, one of the most anticipated matches is slated for June 9 at Eisenhower Park in New York, featuring arch-rivals India and Pakistan. This marquee clash is part of a comprehensive tournament schedule released on Friday.

India’s initial three group-stage matches will take place in New York, with their fourth encounter scheduled in Florida. Meanwhile, the defending champions England, are set to kick off their campaign against Australia on June 8 in Barbados.

The T20 World Cup, co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, is set to kick off on June 1 with a match between the USA and Canada in Dallas. The final is scheduled for June 29 in Barbados. The tournament will have 55 matches across nine venues, including six in the West Indies (Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent) and three in the USA (Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida; and Grand Prairie, Texas).

2024 T20 World Cup groups:

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

The group dynamics are interestingly structured, with Group A teams exclusively playing in USA during the group stage. Group B and C matches are to happen in the West Indies, while Group D teams experience a split between the USA and the West Indies.

India’s group stage matches involve clashes with Pakistan on June 9, Ireland on June 5, USA on June 12, and Canada on June 15.

The 2024 T20 World Cup marks an expansion, accommodating 20 teams, up from the 16 teams in the 2022 edition. Teams are divided into four groups of five each, with the top two from each group advancing to the Super 8 round.

Canada, USA and Uganda are set to make their inaugural appearances in the Men’s T20 World Cup, adding a fresh and unpredictable element to the competition.

Share this story