SOA felicitates Gayatribala Panda

Share this story

gayatribala panda
Dr Gayatribala Panda being felicitated by SOA.

Bhubaneswar: Odia poet, fiction writer and critic Dr. Gayatribala Panda, who has been nominated for the Kendriya Sahitya Akademi Award 2022 for her book ‘Dayanadi’, was recently felicitated by the Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA) Deemed to be University for her literary achievement.

Dr. Panda, who heads the SOA Centre of Preservation, Propagation and Restoration of Ancient Culture and Heritage of India (PPRACHIN), the centre
dedicated to work for preservation and restoration of the country’s rich heritage and culture, was presented with a shawl and memento at a function held at the university.

The chancellor of SOA, Prof. DP Ray, felicitated the poet while describing her achievement as a matter of pride for the university. “It is a feather in SOA’s
cap and has brought laurels for the institution,” he said.

Also read: SOA felicitates alumnus and DAMan actor Dipanwit Dashmohapatra

Replying to the felicitation, Dr. Panda said she greatly valued the blessings of the senior functionaries of the university.

She won the Kendriya Sahitya Akademi Yuva Purashkar in Odia for her collection of poems titled ‘Gaan’ in 2011. ‘Dayanadi’ is a collection of poems depicting the historic ‘Kalinga War’ said to have been fought on the banks of the river Daya on the outskirts of Bhubaneswar.

Congratulating Dr. Panda on her award, the SOA vice-chancellor Prof. (Dr.) Ashok Kumar Mahapatra described it as a creditable achievement. “We are happy and congratulate her on winning this laurel,” he said.

Those who were present at the function, among others, included Prof. Bibhuti Bhushan Pradhan, pro-vice chancellor and registrar of SOA, Prof. Manas
Kumar Mallick, director, Prof. Manjula Das, controller of examination, Prof. Bijay Kumar Sahu, dean of Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Prof. Anup Kumar Samantaray, dean, Institute of Business and Computer Studies, Prof. Neeta Mohanty, dean of Institute of Dental Sciences, Prof. Jyoti Ranjan Das, dean (Students’ Welfare) and Deba Prasad Dash, director, Corporate Relations.

Share this story