Ranji Trophy quarterfinal: MP-Andhra clash set for exciting finish

Share this story

Representational Image. (Photo credit: Pixabay)

Indore: The Ranji Trophy quarterfinal between Madhya Pradesh and Andhra hung in the balance at the end of the third day on Sunday, setting the stage for a thrilling finish. Andhra, chasing 170, found themselves at 95 for 4, needing 75 more runs to win with Hanuma Vihari holding steady at 43 not out.

The contest, dominated by bowlers, witnessed Madhya Pradesh collapsing to 107 in their second innings, giving Andhra an opportunity to take control. Nithish Kumar Reddy’s impressive spell (4 for 28) and contributions from Sasikanth and Lalith Mohan saw Madhya Pradesh struggle.

In their pursuit, Andhra faced early setbacks losing openers, but Vihari’s resilience steadied the ship. However, Anubhav Agarwal’s three-wicket haul kept the pressure on Andhra. Wicketkeeper-batter Himanshu Mantri’s crucial 43 in the second innings for Madhya Pradesh proved vital.

As the match enters the final day, Andhra’s hopes rest on Vihari’s experience, while Madhya Pradesh would aim to secure the remaining six wickets.

Brief scores:

Madhya Pradesh 234 and 107 in 40.5 overs (Himanshu Mantri 43; Nithish Kumar Reddy 4/28, Lalith Mohan 3/20, KV Sasikanth 3/20) lead Andhra 172 and 95/4 in 44 overs (Hanuma Vihari 43*; Anubhav Agarwal 2/22) by 75 runs.

Mumbai 384 & 21/1 in 12 overs (Hardik Tamore 12*; Bhargav Bhatt 1/12) lead Baroda 348 (Jyotsnil Singh 32, Shashwat Rawat 124, Vishnu Solanki 136; Shams Mulani 4/121) by 57 runs.

Vidarbha: 460 & 50 for no loss in 14 overs vs Karnataka: 286 all out in 90.3 overs (Nikin Jose 82, R Samarth 59; Yash Thakur 3/48, Aditya Sarwate 3/50).

Share this story