IPL 2021: Tripathi six takes KKR to third IPL final

Share this story

Gill and Iyer
Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer put up an opening stand of 96 runs in a tricky chase. (Photo credit: Twitter@IPL)

Kolkata Knight Riders reached their first IPL final in seven years with a jittery three-wicket win over last edition’s finalist Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 2 on Wednesday in Sharjah.

Chasing a target of 136, opening stand of 96 runs between Venkatesh Iyer (55) and Shubman Gill (46) set them up before they lost seven wickets for 40 runs.

Kolkata have really thrived on the slow tracks in the UAE leg and have turned it around and today too on a slow Sharjah track they held their nerves to set up a final clash against Chennai Super Kings.

For Delhi, Kagiso Rabada, Andrich Nortje and Ravichandran Ashwin picked two wickets each before Rahul Tripathi clubbed a six to take Kolkata to their third IPL final.

They moved to Qualifier 2 after knocking Royal Challengers Bangalore out in the Eliminator and then their bowlers did well to restrict Delhi to 135 for 5.

Two-time IPL champions Kolkata last lifted the trophy in 2014 when they beat Punjab Kings in the final. Friday’s summit clash against Chennai will be a repeat of the 2012 edition.

Share this story