Institute of Agricultural Sciences dominates SOA Cup 2024

Share this story

soa cup
Guests with winners during the SOA Cup 2024.

Bhubaneswar: The Institute of Agricultural Sciences (IAS) emerged champions in the annual SOA Cup 2024, a three-week sporting event featuring students from SOA University’s 10 affiliated institutions competing in various sports disciplines.

In a stellar display of skill and teamwork, Foreign Students’ II secured the men’s football title, overpowering IAS with a convincing 5-0 victory in the final. Institute of Medical Sciences (IMS) showcased their basketball prowess, claiming both the men’s and women’s crowns. The men’s final saw IMS triumph over Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER) with a scoreline of 40-31, while the women’s team secured a 16-12 victory against the same opponents.

Cricket enthusiasts witnessed intense clashes, with Computer Science and Engineering of ITER emerging triumphant in the men’s final, defeating Institute of Business and Computer Studies (IBCS) by five wickets. Meanwhile, IAS dominated the women’s cricket final, defeating Institute of Dental Sciences (IDS) by a significant 46-run margin.

IAS continued their winning streak in other events too, with the boys’ softball team overpowering School of Pharmaceutical Sciences (SPS) with a commanding 7-2 scoreline. In the women’s softball final, SNIL emerged victorious, outplaying IAS with a final score of 26-17. In the women’s throw ball final, ITER secured a 2-0 victory over SUM Nursing College (SNC).

Aditya Majhi of SOA National Institute of Law (SNIL) and Solancee Uramani of SUM Nursing College (SNC) were crowned men’s and women’s champions respectively in track and field events.

In men’s tennis, Amitoj Singh Sachdeva (IMS) exhibited prowess, defeating Jaydish Chand (SPS) with a 6-0, 6-3 scoreline. In kho kho, IBCS emerged victorious in both men’s and women’s finals against IAS. In kabaddi, CSE (ITER) and ITER secured titles in the men’s and women’s categories, defeating SPS and IAS, respectively.

Table-tennis saw Abinash Tripathy of CSE winning the men’s crown by defeating Binayak Pandit of IAS, while SNIL’s Payal Pani clinched the women’s title by beating Arohi Acharya (SPS) in the final. Aditya Ranjan Samal (CSE) and Sneha Verma (SNIL) triumphed in chess, securing the men’s and women’s titles, respectively.

The SOA Cup 2024 concluded with a grand ceremony on March 7, featuring Olympian Anuradha Biswal as the chief guest, alongside international volleyball player Ananya Das. SOA vice-chancellor Prof Pradipta Kumar Nanda, SOA’s dean (Students’ Welfare) Prof Jyoti Ranjan Das, sports officer Sunita Barma, and IAS Prof Anshuman Jena graced the event, celebrating the spirit of sportsmanship and competition that defined this year’s memorable tournament.

Share this story