Odisha CM inaugurates second campus of SUM Hospital at Phulnakhara

Share this story

SUM hospital
Chief minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurates the second campus of SUM Hospital at Phulnakhara.

Bhubaneswar: Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the second campus Institute of Medical Sciences and SUM Hospital at Phulnakhara on Sunday.

“The new hospital will have the objective to become a milestone in the state’s healthcare ecosystem,” SOA vice-chancellor Prof Pradipta Kumar Nanda said.

The new teaching hospital, which will have 750 beds to begin with, will increase the same to 3000 within two years. The onco care facilities available at Phulnakhara will include radiation oncology, nuclear medicine and sophisticated diagnostic equipment. The location of the hospital will greatly benefit patients as they will be able to access it from different parts of the state, he said.

The hospital will have all departments including general medicine, respiratory medicine, paediatrics, neonatology, critical care medicine, psychiatry, anesthesiology, radio-diagnosis, emergency medicine, immuno hematology, radiation oncology, nuclear medicine, medical oncology, paediatric oncology, general surgery, orthopedics, obstetrics and gynaecology, ophthalmology, ENT, pathology and microbiology.

Also read: SOA’s expertise sought to set up hospital in Cameroon

It will provide round-the-clock emergency service including ICU, ICCU, PICU, NICU and exclusive ICU for cardio thoracic and vascular surgery (CTVS) and hemato oncology patients. Prof Nanda said another campus of SUM Hospital was being set up at Sitalapalli in Ganjam district, which is expected to be unveiled by end of January.

The hospital will have 350 beds and all necessary modern healthcare infrastructure, he said. “The three hospitals run by SOA will compliment each other while striving to extend quality healthcare to the people,” he said adding treatment under the Biju Swasthya Kalyan Yojana (BSKY) would be extended to eligible patients in all the three hospitals.

Odisha’s minister for health and family welfare Niranjan Pujari, 5T chairman VK Pandian, legislator Susanta Kumar Rout and chief adviser to the chief minister Suresh Kumar Mohapatra were present.

Prof (Dr) Manojranjan Nayak, founder president of SOA, welcomed the chief minister. SOA vice-president Saswati Das, SOA’s principal adviser (Health Sciences) Prof (Dr) Ashok Kumar Mahapatra and medical superintendent Prof Pusparaj Samantasinhar, Prof Arakhita Swain, dean of the new institute and Dr Rajesh Kumar Lenka, medical superintendent, were also present on the occasion.

Share this story