Kanpur’s Vaibhav Gupta crowned winner of Indian Idol 14

Share this story

Mumbai: In an entertaining grand finale, Vaibhav Gupta, known as ‘Kanpur ka Tarana’, emerged victorious in the prestigious singing reality show Indian Idol’s 14th season. Securing the coveted trophy, Vaibhav also claimed a cash prize of Rs 25 lakh and a sleek ‘Hot and Techy’ Brezza car.

The other five finalists were – Shubhadeep Das Chowdhury, Ananya Pal, Adya Mishra, Piyush Panwar and Anjana Padmanabhan. Shubhadeep and Piyush secured the first and second runner-up positions, receiving trophies and Rs 5 lakh each, while Ananya claimed the third spot with Rs 3 lakh and a trophy.

Special judge Sonu Nigam, alongside Neha Kakkar, added star power to the finale. Vaibhav’s rendition of ‘Jumma Chumma’ during the ‘Pyarelal Symphony’ challenge left an indelible mark, and his final duet with Sonu Nigam on ‘Joru Ka Ghulam’ resonated with the audience.

Expressing gratitude, Vaibhav acknowledged the judges, the supportive team and the audience whose unwavering support made him feel like a true idol. Kumar Sanu praised Vaibhav’s potential, Shreya Ghoshal highlighted his versatility and Vishal Dadlani commended his exceptional live performances.

Neha Kakkar, a ‘super judge’ for the upcoming season of ‘Superstar Singer,’ also delivered a captivating performance, adding to the electrifying atmosphere of the finale. The event concluded with Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal’s enchanting joint performances on popular tracks.

(with agency inputs)

Share this story