Five successive wins for Odisha, storm into quarters of women’s T20 league

Share this story

Sarita Meher
Sarita Meher top-scored for Odisha with 61 runs against TN. (Image: OCA)

Odisha beat Tamil Nadu to register their fifth successive win and storm into the quarters of the Senior women’s T20 League.

In a thriller, Odisha clinched a narrow two-run win over Tamil Nadu on Sunday at Thiruvanathapuram. Opting to bat, Odisha put up 133 for 3 in 20 overs with Sarita Meher scoring 61 and Pragyan Mohanty 59.

Tamil Nadu gave a good fight and managed to reach 131 for 8 in 20 overs, with S Anusha remaining unbeaten on 55. For Odisha, Priyanka Priyadarshini picked four wickets.

Odisha finished the league phase as table toppers with 20 points and qualified for the quarterfinal to be played in Surat. The team will leave for Surat on April 26.

Odisha Cricket Association has announced Rs 5 lakh as cash award for the team and support staff for their excellent campaign in the league phase of the tournament.

Share this story