FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: India fixtures, full schedule, venues, teams, groups and match timings

Share this story

hockey world cup 2023
India will play their opener against Spain on January 13. (Photo credit: Pixabay)

After the opening ceremony on January 11 at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 will kickstart on January 13, with India scheduled to meet Spain in the opener at the newly built Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium.

The quadrennial event to be played in two cities of Odisha – Bhubaneswar and Rourkela – will have 44 matches and the final to be played on January 29.

Also read: FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023, live streaming and telecast details

The tournament has been divided into four groups with 16 countries participating.The team topping each group will progress to the quarterfinals while the sides placed second and third in their respective pools will have to play crossover matches for the remaining four quarterfinal spots.


A: Australia, Argentina, France, South Africa

B: Belgium, South Korea, Germany, Japan

C: Netherlands, New Zealand, Malaysia, Chile

D: India, England, Spain, Wales

India schedule:

January 13: India vs Spain – 7:00 PM

Janaury 15: India vs England – 7:00 PM

January 19: India vs Wales – 7:00 PM

Complete schedule:

January 13

Argentina vs South Africa (Bhubaneshwar) 1:00 PM

Australia vs France (Bhubaneshwar) 3:00 PM

England vs Wales (Rourkela) 5:00 PM

India vs Spain (Rourkela) 7:00 PM

January 14

New Zealand vs Chile (Rourkela) 1:00 PM

Netherlands vs Malaysia (Rourkela) 3:00 PM

Belgium vs Korea (Bhubaneshwar) 5:00 PM

Germany vs Japan (Bhubaneshwar) 7:00 PM

January 15

Spain vs Wales (Rourkela) 5:00 PM

England vs India (Rourkela) 7:00 PM

January 16

Malaysia vs Chile (Rourkela) 1:00 PM

New Zealand vs Netherlands (Rourkela) 3:00 PM

France vs South Africa (Bhubaneshwar) 5:00 PM

Argentina vs Australia (Bhubaneshwar) 7:00 PM

January 17

Korea vs Japan (Bhubaneshwar) 5:00 PM

Germany vs Belgium (Bhubaneshwar) 7:00 PM

January 19

Malaysia vs New Zealand (Bhubaneshwar) 1:00 PM

Netherlands vs Chile (Bhubaneshwar) 3:00 PM

Spain vs England (Bhubaneshwar) 5:00 PM

India vs Wales (Bhubaneshwar) 7:00 PM

January 20:

Australia vs South Africa (Rourkela) 1:00 PM

France vs Argentina (Rourkela) 3:00 PM

Belgium vs Japan (Rourkela) 5:00 PM

Korea vs Germany (Rourkela) 7:00 PM

January 24:

1st Quarterfinal – (Bhubaneswar) – 4:30 PM

2nd Quarterfinal – (Bhubaneswar) – 7:00 PM

January 25:

3rd Quarterfinal – (Bhubaneswar) – 4:30 PM

4th Quarterfinal – (Bhubaneswar) – 7:00 PM

January 27:

1st Semi-final – (Bhubaneswar) – 4:30 PM

2nd Semi-final – (Bhubaneswar) – 7:00 PM

January 29:

Third-place play-off – (Bhubaneswar) 4:30 PM

FINAL – (Bhubaneswar) 7:00 PM

Share this story