ECoR introduces special trains for Holi festival; timings and stops announced

Share this story

holi special trains
ECoR has rolled out special train services for the upcoming Holi festival.

East Coast Railway (ECoR) has announced the operation of special train services in anticipation of the high demand for travel during the upcoming Holi festival. The special trains are aimed at accommodating the additional rush of passengers and clearing waitlists in regular trains.

ECoR has scheduled five pairs of Holi Special Trains from its jurisdiction to destinations including Pune, Patna and Nizamuddin. Additionally, services of some existing special trains traversing through ECoR territory have been extended for the festive period.

Also read: Bhubaneswar-Balangir Express extended up to Sonepur

Indian Railways has observed a significant surge in ticket bookings during festive seasons, often resulting in overcrowding and long waitlists in regular trains. In response, Passenger Profile Management Units of Indian Railways are closely monitoring passenger demands to ensure a hassle-free journey.

Passengers facing waitlist status in regular trains are advised to consider booking tickets in special trains operating from and through the East Coast Railway jurisdiction. Special trains can be easily identified by their unique train numbers starting with “0” or “8”, accessible via the National Train Enquiry System (NTES) for online bookings or by inquiring at PRS inquiry counters for counter tickets.

To assist passengers in planning their journeys, ECoR has provided detailed information regarding the timings and stoppages of the special trains:

  1. Sambalpur-Pune Holi Special:

Departure from Sambalpur: 22:00hrs on Sundays between March 17 to March 31
Return journey from Pune: 09:15hrs on Tuesdays between March 19 to April 2. Stops include important stations like Bargarh Road, Balangir, Titilagarh, Kantabanji, Khariar Road, Raipur, Nagpur, and Manmadnagar before reaching Pune.

  1. Puri-Patna Holi Special:

Departure from Puri: 16:45hrs on Mondays between March 18 to March 25
Return journey from Patna: 13:15hrs on Tuesdays between March 19 to March 26. Stops include key stations like Khurda Road, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Bhadrak, Balasore, and Adra before reaching Patna.

  1. Puri-Nizamuddin Holi Special via Sambalpur City:

Departure from Puri: 04:50hrs on Fridays between March 22 to March 29
Return journey from Nizamuddin: 23:35hrs on Saturdays between March 23 to March 30. Stops include prominent stations like Khurda Road, Bhubaneswar, Naraj, Dhenkanal, Sambalpur City, Bilaspur, and Gwalior before reaching Nizamuddin.

  1. Visakhapatnam-Nizamuddin Holi Special:

Departure from Visakhapatnam: 08:20hrs on Saturdays between March 23 to March 30
Return journey from Nizamuddin: 23:35hrs on Sundays between March 24 to March 31. Stops include significant stations like Vizianagaram, Rayagada, Titilagarh, Khariar Road, Raipur, New Katni, and Mathura before reaching Nizamuddin.

  1. Visakhapatnam-Patna Holi Special:

Departure from Visakhapatnam: 09:25hrs on Wednesdays between March 20 to March 27
Return journey from Patna: 13:00hrs on Thursdays between March 21 to March 28. Stops include important stations like Vizianagaram, Srikakulam, Palasa, Brahmapur, Khurda Road, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, and Bhadrak before reaching Patna.

Share this story