Berhampur Municipal Corporation bags Swachh Survekshan 2021 Award

Share this story

Swachh Survekshan 2021 Award
Berhampur Municipal Corporation officials receive the Swachh Survekshan 2021 Award at a function in Delhi.

Berhampur Municipal Corporation bagged Swachh Survekshan 2021 Award for Innovation and Best Practices in New Delhi on Saturday.

Vijay Amruta Kulange, collector & district magistrate, Ganjam along with Dr Siddheswar Baliram Bondar, commissioner, Berhampur Municipal Corporation and other senior officials received the award.

Swachh Survekshan is an annual survey of cleanliness, hygiene and sanitation in cities and towns across India. The objective of the survey is to encourage large scale citizen participation, ensure sustainability of initiatives taken towards garbage free and open defecation free cities. Additionally, the survey also intends to foster a spirit of healthy competition amongst towns and cities to improve their service delivery to citizens and move towards creating cleaner cities.

Urban Local Bodies of Odisha have performed well in the Swachh Survekshan 2021, among a total of 4320 cities and towns having participated in the Survey.

Jatani Municipality stood sixth in overall Zonal Ranking, Paradip Municipality at eighth position, Dhenkanal Municipality in 11th rank, Rajagangpur Municipality 17th, Keonjhargarh 18th, Barbil 21st, Jeypore 22nd, Bhawanipatana 24th and Jharsuguda was placed 25th – in the under 50-1 lakh population overall National Zonal Ranking category.

Similarly, Joda Municipality stood 20th, Byasanagar 21st, Sundargarh 26th, Anandpur Municipality 28th, Paralekhmundi Municipality 33th, Jajpur Municipality 34th and Khorda Municipality took 35th National Zonal Ranking under 25000 to 50,000 Population Category.

Under 1 lakh to 10 lakh Population Category, Berhampur Municipal Corporation stood 56th while Rourkela Municipal Corporation in 57th rank in National Ranking, and Balasore Municipality in 109th Zonal ranking.

In less than 25,000 population category, Hinjlicut Municipality stood 110th, Rambha was placed at 137th rank, Binika NAC 138th, Konark NAC 140th, Asika NAC 141th, Patanagarh NAC 142nd, Biejepur NAC 143rd, Surada NAC 144th, Tarabha NAC 147th, Kamakhyanagar 148th, Kotapad NAC 149th and Bhuban NAC 150th rank under Zonal Ranking.

Share this story

Comments are closed.