15 major stations of ECoR to have Video Surveillance System

Share this story

With an aim to strengthen the Security System at Railway Station premises, Indian Railways is going to implement Video Surveillance System (VSS) project (CCTV Cameras Network) under Nirbhaya Fund at 756 Railway Stations across the country including 15 stations from ECoR jurisdiction.

Executing the job through agency has also been finalised. The

first phase of the project will cover major stations of category A1, A, B,C numbering 756 and is likely to be completed by January 2023. The remaining stations will be covered in phase-2 of implementation.

In order to enhance security at Railway stations which are major hubs of transportation, Indian Railways is in the process of installing Internet Protocol (IP) based Video Surveillance System (VSS) at stations, that is, waiting halls, reservation counters, parking areas, main entrance/exit, platforms, foot over bridges, booking offices etc.

Ashwini Vaishnaw, Minister for Railways said: “We need to rapidly absorb new technology in Railways, be it for rolling stock, construction, safety, cyber security, or in situations where there is a human interface.”

Also read: List of special trains for Bahuda Yatra

Aruna Singh Chairman & Managing Director, RailTel assured that with the finalization of the executing agencies, the implementation of the project will be fast-tracked. The most modern software & hardware will be used in this project.

This VSS system will be IP based and will have a network of CCTV cameras.

These CCTVs are being networked on optical fiber cable and the video feed of the CCTV cameras will be displayed not only at local RPF posts but also at a centralised CCTV control room at divisional and zonal level. The CCTV cameras of stations and video feeds will be monitored at these 3 levels to ensure enhanced safety and security at Railway premises.

The system comes with Artificial Intelligence (AI) enabled Video Analytics Software and Facial Recognition Software which will help to detect known criminals triggering an alert when they enter station premises. Network Management System (NMS) has been also been provided for monitoring of cameras, server, UPS and switches which can be viewed from any web browser by authorised personnel.

Four types of IP cameras (Dome type, bullet types, Pan Tilt Zoom type and Ultra HD- 4k) are being installed to ensure maximum coverage of the Railway premises, which will give an extra edge to the RPF officials for ensuring enhanced security.

Angul, Bhadrak, Brahmapur, Dhenkanal, Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Khurda Road, Balangir, Sambalpur, Titlagarh JN, Koraput, Rayagada, Palasa, Jagdalpur, Srikakulam Road and Vizianagaram Stations in ECoR jurisdiction will have VSS.

Share this story