Koustuv Das wins All Odisha School Chess Championship

Share this story

The winners at All Odisha School Chess Championship, held at SOA.

Bhubaneswar: Koustuv Das of St. Xavier’s High School, Kedargouri, finished first by scoring 8.5 points out of a possible 9 at the two-day All Odisha School Chess Championship which concluded at the Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan Deemed to be University (SOA) recently.

Das won eight of the nine matches while drawing one to emerge the top player in the tournament and won a purse of Rs 10,000. Tanmay Talin Behera of Mother’s Public School, Bhubaneswar, finished second with 8 points.

The championship, organised by All Odisha Chess Association (AOCA) in association with SOA, offered prize money of Rs one lakh. More than 200 Children in the age group of five to 15 from across the state participated in the tournament.

Jyotshnav Talukdar (Kendriya Vidyalaya, No. 3, Bhubaneswar), Lalit Ranjan Sahu (Stewart School, Cuttack), Ayushman Mohanty (Kendriya Vidyalaya, No. 1, Puri), Pratyush Nayak (Stewart School, Cuttack), Debarpit Mishra (Kendriya Vidyalaya, No. 1, Bhubaneswar), Santanu Baral (Prashanti International School, Puri), Mohapatra Ayush Aryan (Kendriya Vidyalaya, Cuttack) and Santanu Kumar Dash (Ravindra Vidya Niketan, Keonjhar) also won cash prizes and were presented with trophies.

Dayal Gangwar, additional director general of police, Railway and Coastal Security, Odisha, Prof (Dr) Ashok Mahapatra, former vice-chancellor of SOA and Madhusudan Padhi, former bureaucrat attended the valedictory ceremony of the tournament.

Prof Jyoti Ranjan Das, dean (Students’ Welfare) of SOA, welcomed the guests.
DP Khare, principal, KT Global School, Bhubaneswar, Suresh Chandra Sahoo, International Arbiter, AOCA, Debabrata Bhatta, secretary of AOCA, Shankar Mishra, treasurer, AOCA and Sunita Burma, sports officer of SOA, were present.

Share this story